Skip to content ↓
St Wilfrids C of E Aided Primary School

St Wilfrids C of E Aided Primary School

Local Governing Body

This school has eleven governors who act  on behalf of St Wilfrid's for the St James & Emmanuel Academy Trust. Please see the page on St James & Emmanuel Academy Trust for more information on the organisation of the Trust and the other schools within it, West Didsbury CE Primary School, Didsbury CE Primary School and St Elisabeth's CE Primary School.

The head of school is a governor because of her job. She attends the meetings and prepares reports for the governors.

St Wilfrid's CE Primary School is a church school with very strong links to the Parish of St Wilfrid's in Northenden. The Parochial Church Council (PCC) of the church nominate six of our eleven governors, in order that the faith foundation of our school is firmly upheld. The PCC nominations have to be ratified and approved by the Members of the Trust, who have the controlling interest. For more information on the Members please see the St James and Emmanuel Trust page on this website.

This school has three parent governors. Two are elected by all the parents and the other is a PCC position. There are also two staff governors. One is the head of the school. One works as a teacher in St Wilfrid's CE Primary School. All the people who work in the school vote for the person they want.

The executive headteacher is also a governor who attends the meetings in order to report back to the Trustees. 

This school on occasions also has associate members in order to ensure succession planning is rigorous. All our Governors have enhanced DBS checks.

The governors are:

Title First Name Surname Category Start End Governor Link
Mr Andrew Bradley Ex-Officio Chair 01.09.16 31.08.20 Safeguarding/Ethos, Parish & British Values
Mr Paul Trainor PCC Community      
Mrs Mandy Dhaliwal Staff Governor 02.02.17 01.02.21  
Mr Paul  Good Director/MDBE 05.02.16 04.02.20 Quality of Education:  Curriculum
Mrs Helena Miller Head of school n/a    
Mr Geoff Stevenson PCC Parent 01.09.16 31.08.20 Pupil Premium
Mrs Susanne Budgett Co-opted 02.02.17 01.02.21  
Ms Carolyn Mcdonald PCC 08.12.16 07.12.20 English
Mr Matthew Croxall PCC 07.11.2019 06.11.22 Numeracy
Mr Matt Whitehead Exec. Head n/a   Sports and PE Premium
Mr Adam Hossen Parent Governor 7.3.19 7.3.23 Mathematics
Mrs Lynn Oldfield Parent Governor 08.12.16 07.12.20


Miss Jenna Bartlett Staff Member      

This governing body meets six times each year (once every half-term).

There are very strict rules, which the governing body must obey, by law. See below for a link to our Articles of Association, Terms of Reference and Code of Conduct. 

You will also be able to read the latest minutes of the St James & Emmanuel Academy Trust, St Wilfrid's CE Governing Body, too. 

Please note that at every Governing Body meeting our Governors have to declare any pecuniary interests. Please note that none of our Governors have pecuniary interests in education related businesses and any interests have to be declared before every meeting commences.

Our Chair of Governors, Reverend Andrew Bradley, can be contacted by email on: